Alexi Tuomarila Trio old

MATS EILERTSEN double bass



Over the last ten years, Finnish pianist and composer Alexi Tuomarila has earned considerable attention across continental Europe as a musician of incredible natural talent and promise. In 2004, following numerous first prize awards at various international jazz competitions, he was signed by Warner Jazz France, aged 25, for a three album deal. This brought worldwide attention and critical acclaim from the international press, fans and musicians.

“Tuomarila can dazzle with extended linear runs, a blur of notes fusing into melodic arcs, or dig in and groove developing motifs and letting them grow.”
– London Jazz News

Tuomarila has released seven albums as leader (five with his quartet and two as a trio). His work prompted writer/reviewer Stuart Nicholson to name Alexi as one of the six best new jazz talents worldwide in the UK’s Observer Music Monthly.

Outside of his own projects, Alexi has been playing as a sideman with the likes of the Tomasz Stanko, Andre Fernandes, Kenny Wheeler, Rick Margitza, Mats Eilertsen, recording for numerous labels including ECM, Warner Music, Jazzaway Records and performing throughout Europe, Australia, Asia and the US.

In April 2013, Alexi returned to the trio format and united again with his long term associates and friends, bassist Mats Eilertsen and drummer Olavi Louhivuori, to release Seven Hills on Edition Records. The album reignited the flare and drive that was evident on his earlier releases and pushed Alexi firmly into the international jazz scene as one of the most exciting pianists of his generation.

Joined by the rising star Portuguese guitarist André Fernandes on three tracks, the music on Seven Hills is engaging, free flowing and teeming with a raw energy driven by strong melodic and rhythmical compositions.

The Alexi Tuomarila trio is a group forged together so strongly that the musicians find themselves working together in multiple contexts. Tuomarila has created a sensation with his trio with Mats Eilertsen and Olavi Louhivuori, highlighting his melodically and rhythmically robust compositions and the trio’s almost telepathic communication. This music is filled with emotional and melancholy warmth balanced with a rhythmical drive.

Open Alexi Tuomarila Trio leaflet here ►

Alexi Tuomarila Trio

Alexi Tuomarila Trio

Alexi Tuomarila Seven Hills album trailer


Record Label:
Dave Stapleton
Edition Records

Press & PR:
Mike Gavin, Worldwide
(not Germany, Austria & Switzerland)

Uwe Kerkau
Germany, Austria & Switzerland

vanha teksti/Lithium

Lithium is the brand-new result of a collaboration of four talented musicians and composers, combining resolve, energy and years of experience: Andre Fernandes (guitar), Jonne Taavitsainen (drums), Alexi Tuomarila (piano) and Joonas Tuuri (bass). Lithium’s music lives from different genres, all of which are rendered by its members into a strong, unique sound.

<a href=””>More about Lithium »</a>

◄ back to